Q3 upgrades Saturday 21 November and the 'New' ISI Web of Knowledge Version 5

Date of news item: 17 November 2009

Mimas are pleased to advise of the latest Q3 upgrade to ISI Web of Knowledge, version 4.7 which has been scheduled for Sunday, November 22, beginning at 14:00 GMT (9:00 EST).

In addition to this release, Endnote Web and ResearcherID will receive their Q3 upgrades. Please note, A more substantial downtime is required for EndNote Web starting on Saturday November 21, 2009 at 02:00 GMT (Friday, November 20, 2009 at 21:00 EST) ending by Sunday, Nov. 22, 15:00 GMT. (10:00 EST).

'New' ISI Web of Knowledge Version 5

A production release of 'ISI Web of Knowledge Version 5' will also be made available at this time, although not a full release it will allow a preview of the new version with many exciting enhancements, and more to follow in 2010.

Users will have parallel access to the ISI Web of Knowledge version 4.7 and the production release of the 'NEW' Version 5.

Following the Web of Science Enhancement Committee - Thomson Reuters have released a PowerPoint presentation of all the Q3 enhancements, future enhancements and full details of WoK version 5 planned for 2009 - 2010 at: http://wok.mimas.ac.uk/support/documentation/presentations/wosec271009.ppt

WoK Version 4.7

  • Upgraded Operating System and Browser support.
  • Refine / Analyse Funding Agencies.
  • Analyse by Grant Numbers.
  • Access to the new WoK Environment.

'New' WoK Version 5. Updates and Plans 2009 - 2010.

Briefly benefits include Enhancements for:

  • Searching.
  • Display.
  • Analyse.
  • Citation.
  • Record Management.

To mention a few,

  • All database search results can be refined by product.
  • Elimination of "Stop Words".
  • Lemmatisation, e.g. tooth will also find results for teeth.
  • Full hit counts.
  • Left hand truncation - no need to precede the wildcard with 3 characters.
  • Full author name searching.

Releases through 2010 will add:

  • Remaining Web of Knowledge Content, (access - may depend on subscription).

  • – Medline, Inspec, CAB Abstracts, …
  • Remaining WoK 4 “Parity” Functionality.

  • – Alerts, Search Aids, Search Highlighting, …
  • New Unique Functionality.

  • – Search and Display ResearcherID numbers, Spell Checking, RefWorks Export, …

Optional subscriptions of:

  • BIOSIS Citation Index.
  • Chinese Science Citation Index.

If you have any questions or simply wish to give us your feedback on the enhancements, please contact the helpdesk at: wok@mimas.ac.uk